Council Members and Regions

Council Members and Regions

Please consider being a part of the Council.

If you have any questions, are interested in Council Meeting Minutes or need a nomination form, please contact the Council office at 816-251-4512.


November 19, 2020

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of three members to serve on the Mushroom Council. The appointees will serve three-year terms from Jan. 1, 2021, to Dec. 31, 2023. 
Members appointed are:

  • Curtis Jurgensmeyer, Miami, Oklahoma – Representing Region 1
  • Joe Caldwell, Wyomissing, Pennsylvania – Representing Region 2
  • Jane Rhyno, Ontario, Canada- Representing Region 4

The nine-member council is comprised of eight domestic growers and one importer. The members represent four regions: three domestic growers are from states other than California and Pennsylvania (Region 1), four domestic growers are from Pennsylvania (Region 2), one domestic grower is from California (Region 3) and the importer represents Region 4. Council members are nominated by their peers and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. 

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight of 21 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

Region 1 (Includes all states except for CA and PA)

Curtis Jurgensmeyer, J-M Farms, Inc. – 1st Term
Edward M. Wuensch III, Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm – 1st Term
M. Fletcher Street, Ostrom Mushrooms – 1st Term

Region 2 (Includes Pennsylvania)

Joe Caldwell, Giorgi Mushroom Company – 1st Term
Sonya Beltran, Masda Mushrooms/First Generation Farms –2nd Term
Meghan Klotzbach, C.P. Yeatman & Sons/Mother Earth – 1st Term
Mark Moran, South Mill / Champs Mushrooms – 1st Term

Region 3 (Includes California)

Emily Bettencourt, Global Mushrooms – 1st Term

Region 4 (Includes Importers)

Jane Rhyno, Highline Mushrooms – 1st Term

Note that USDA and the Mushroom Council encourage all eligible producers, including women, minorities and individuals with disabilities to participate in the nominations and seek nomination to serve on the Council.

Press Releases

Find our past and present press releases distributed by the Mushroom Council.